[review] City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

Transcript

Hey everyone this is Meghan from Coffee & Wizards. Today I’m here to talk about this book: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. It is the fifth book in the Mortal Instruments series.

One thing I do really like about this book and this series is that I find the characters to be fairly memorable. Usually I forget about characters and their names, like, directly after I finish reading the book. But for characters like Jace and Isabel, I tend to remember their names, and I feel like they’re written well enough that I can distinguish them from each other. Now when you start comparing the Mortal Instruments to the Infernal Devices, you can definitely see the parallels when it comes to the characters (Jace vs. Will). There’s some similarities in the set up, which is fine. Cassandra Clare has found the formula for a popular series, and she’s sticking with it. When something’s not broke, why fix it.

I do really enjoy her male characters, in particular. I didn’t enjoy Jace so much in this book. I wanted to. Her female characters are kind of empty a little bit. Clary actually said some things near the end of this book that I was like “You go girl!” So that was nice and unexpected. Four and a half books too late, but gold star for trying.

One thing I really, really loved about this book was the little references to the Infernal Devices. The Angel, Clockwork Angel is in one of the books cases, and there’s some references to Will Herondale, who I love. Magnus makes a nice little comment about what happens to…parabetti? when the other one dies, and I was like “Oh Cassandra Clare, I see what you’re doing there!” And it also made me really sad.

I definitely think I can see some growth in Cassandra Clare’s writing. Her plotting was a little better. She couldn’t quite break away from some of the things… Why is there still incest things happening? Oh, incest.

One thing that super made me happy, though, in the last book there’s a character introduced: Maureen, who I’m pretty sure is based off of Maureen Johnson. And she’s also in City of Lost Souls, and she’s just the greatest. She’s in there super, super briefly, but after meeting Maureen Johnson, as much as this Maureen is like a crazy vampire, I can see the parallels.

So thank you for listening. If you enjoyed this video blog for some reason, subscribe. If you’ve read Cassandra Clare’s books, I would love to hear what you thought about them, and we can, we can talk about them. Let me know what you like or don’t like about them. All my contact info will be down below. And until next time. Thanks. Bye.

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.

 

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

  1. I just scanned your notes because I still haven’t read this series. I have read the Infernal Devices and really enjoy those books so I want to read this one too. Glad to see you enjoy it and I love when you can see an author grow as a writer the more you read their books

Leave a Reply

