[review] On the Bright Side, I’m now the Girlfriend of a Sex God by Louise Rennison

Transcript

Hi everyone this is Meghan from Coffee & Wizards. Today I’m here to talk about this book: On the Bright Side I’m now the Girlfriend of a Sex God by Louise Rennison. It is the second book in the Georgia Confessions Novels. It’s more of what you get with Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal-Snogging.

I really do enjoy Georgia’s voice. The kind of irony you get from the things she says immediately followed by the things she does is quite amusing.

This one I listened to on audiobook. It was only about five hours long. Fun listen, nothing super intensive to listen to. The narrator was British, so that was amusing. I always like listening to British narrators. I felt she did a really good job of acting out Georgia’s feelings. Georgia’s a very dramatic person, and I felt that the narrator did a really good job of getting Georgia’s feelings across. Whether she was being disdainful or really excited or super fangirly, I felt like that all came across really well.

Plot-wise there’s not much there. It’s a fifteen year old girl’s life. Not a lot happens that’s important to someone my age, but it was still something that I thought was enjoyable and funny.

I actually recently started to watch the movie based off of the first two books. I was really, really impressed with it. It doesn’t follow the books in order of the way events happen, but it’s surprisingly true to the books. A lot of the dialogue in the movie you can find directly from the books, and a lot of the moments are directly from the books even if they’re not in the right order. I was impressed with that. If you’ve read the books, I would recommend watching the movie as well because I think it’s interesting to see how they adapted it.

If you enjoyed this or any of my other reviews, don’t forget to subscribe. I’ll leave all my contact info down below. If you’ve read the Georgia Nicholson series, I would love to hear your thoughts on it. If you know of any other series that are similar when it comes to voice, a really humorous female voice, I would love to hear about it. Thanks, bye.

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [review] On the Bright Side, I’m now the Girlfriend of a Sex God by Louise Rennison

  1. aimee says:

    I LOVE the Angus, Thongs, and Perfect Snogging movie. It’s one of those films I watch repeatedly because it’s so adorable and fluffy, and Aaron Johnson was still single and cheese-hair-less then. (It’s also kind of inescapable being in the Jily fandom on tumblr because it’s hard to think of anyone else as James Potter now. Not that I had a fancast before…) I actually haven’t read the books though. I read the first two in middle school and then sort of forgot about them. But now I’m curious, so I might end up picking them up again. Thanks for this review! ❤

Leave a Reply

