[review] Eona by Allison Goodman

Haven’t read Eon yet? This review might have spoilers for it! Check out my review of it here.

Transcript

Hey everyone, this is Meghan from Coffee & Wizards. Today I am here to talk about this book: Eona by Allison Goodman. A little while ago I talked about Eon by Allison Goodman; this is the sequel. Like Eon, I am super, super duper in love with this book. I preferred Eon. One of the main things I loved about this series was the gender politics. That wasn’t as much the focus in this book. There was much more of a focus on trust and truth and manipulation and lying to others and lying to yourself. It was really nice getting to see the conflict that Eon had with herself and with others. The idea of power and who has it. What it’s like to wield it and what it’s like to give it up. There was also much more of a focus on a love triangle. I wouldn’t say it is the best love triangle I’ve ever read, but I think it was well done.

There’s a lot of danger that the characters are facing, and I really, really, really love a lot of the characters. It’s 600 pages long. I read this in a day and a half. I found myself really engrossed in the story and in the characters and in the world that Goodman has built. It’s a gorgeous, gorgeous world. I love the mythology of it all. You get to hear more about the history of Eon’s ancestors and how that history changed and developed over the years. I just loved all that.

Also, can we take a second to check out how badass that cover is. I really love this cover because it has a woman on the cover looking badass. In Eon, it was a very gender neutral cover, which I understand why. Guys are not as likely to pick up a cover with a girl on the front for whatever reason. It was nice getting to see this female cover. I hope that it won’t turn off male readers because I think male readers will enjoy this book as well. I think every book should be given a chance for a male and female audience. I don’t think you should ever turn a book away because you think, “Oh, well, that’s a boy book, so I shouldn’t read that.” “Oh, that’s a girl book, and I’m a boy, so I shouldn’t read that.”

Thanks for listening! If you enjoyed this or any of my other reviews, don’t forget to hit the subscribe button. Ill leave all my contact info in the doobley-doo. If you’ve read Eon or Eona, I’d love to hear what you think about it. I really love discussing books that I love, so I would love to hear your thoughts on them. If you’ve read Allison Goodman’s other books, let me know what you think of them because I’m seriously considering reading them. And if you know any books that are similar in nature to Eon and Eona, I would love to read them. I’m a huge fan of the feminist fantasy novel, so if you know of more from that genre, let me know because I’m always on the look out for more books like that. Thanks, and see you next time.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Alison Goodman creates an unforgettable world, a flawed but incredible heroine and tells a magical, wonderful story.” – Alexa Loves Books

“Obviously, I recommend this book if you are down for times of awesome and actually enjoy fantasy. If you dislike fantasy stay away.” – April @ Good Books and Good Wine

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [review] Eona by Allison Goodman

  1. April Books & Wine says:

    Yes! The gender politics! The bad ass non submissive girl cover! The girl who does active things! The not so awful triangle! I am just going to exclaim! my! love! ❤

Leave a Reply

