Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×1

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The Eleventh Hour by Steven Moffat

Armed with a new face and a new attitude, the Doctor meets little Amelia Pond, a brave Scottish lass with a very scary crack in her wall, but even scarier is what has come through the crack. Can the Doctor track it down before the entire world is destroyed?

image

As far as Doctor introduction episodes, this is probably my favourite. While “Rose” will always hold a special place in my heart, and “The Christmas Invasion” has some wonderful Tennant moments, “The Eleventh Hour” is kind of at a whole other level.

As a die hard Tenth Doctor fan, this episode was the perfect transition. They don’t try to pretend that the Eleventh Doctor is the same man, but you can still see the tiniest glimmer of him. The moment that sealed it for me is when he walks through that holograph of all the Doctors. For me, it was like this epiphany, my a-ha moment. It was like “there he is…it’s still him.”

I don’t really have much to say about Amy at this point without being all spoiler-y. I do like that she’s not afraid to go against the Doctor (though there is a fine line between bravery and stupidity little Miss Gryffindor…). I’m glad that the Doctor has found someone to travel with once more. And for now, let’s just leave it at that.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×1

  1. Christa says:

    I’m really looking forward to future posts where you can talk more about Amy. I also have thoughts….

  2. Caitlin says:

    It took me so long to get over Ten. For a full season, I thought of Eleven as mean and arrogant and I did not like him.

    • megtao says:

      He’s really not that different from Ten. He’s exactly how Ten was near the end, especially at Waters of Mars.

      • Caitlin says:

        I haven’t yet seen all the specials between seasons four and five, since they weren’t included in the show’s Netflix run. In any case, I did eventually warm up to Eleven.

      • megtao says:

        Ohh you need to see them! I hope you get the chance to someday!

      • Caitlin says:

        I didn’t even realize they existed until I was talking with my boyfriend about how abrupt the transition was, haha. It was a relief to learn there was more to it. We have them ready to watch, just need to find the time!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Fish finger and custard.

Leave a Reply

