[review] The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Transcript

People often tell me that The Truth About Forever is their favourite of Sarah Dessen’s novels, and I completely  understand why. I enjoy Sarah Dessen’s novels in general. I never really find them to be anything special, but there is definitely something special about The Truth About Forever.

The characters in this novel are just something that you don’t find in a lot of contemporary novels, or at least something that I don’t find in a lot of contemporary novels. I really felt that I connected with these characters in a way that I don’t normally connect with contemporary novel characters. Macy on the surface is very similar to most characters you find out there, but there’s something about her that just really connected for me. I just understood how she was feeling, and I could really relate to her, and I think that’s part of what makes reading such a personal experience.

The reasons why I connect with Macy won’t be the same reasons someone else connects with Macy. Macy won’t be someone that other readers connect with because they just won’t. It’s all a very personal thing. I can’t tell you that you will love this book. I can’t say that this book will knock you off your feet because I don’t know: it might not. It is a favourite of many people.

I think one of the reasons why people love it so much is the Macy-Wes relationship. It’s not a quick romance. It’s not insta-love at all, though it certainly is insta-attraction. You get to experience and watch the gradual growth of these characters and their attachment to each other, and I think that’s what really makes this story special.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“There’s really nothing new with the story, but thanks to the writing and the vivid characters, it becomes a little bit extraordinary.” – One More Page

“…every single girl in the world will not be living a complete life until THEY PICK UP THIS MASTERPIECE OF LITERATURE AND EXPERIENCE ITS AWESOME POWER.” – Forever Young Adult

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to [review] The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

  1. aimee says:

    I agree with this so much. The Truth About Forever was actually my first Sarah Dessen novel, and it’s definitely my favorite Sarah Dessen novel of them all (This Lullaby comes pretty close though). It might have even been the first YA contemporary to capture my heart (and now I read them all the time). And you’re completely right–a lot of it actually is personal, but then a lot of it is the Wes/Macy relationship as well. I just love all the characters (except Jason, whom surprisingly gets some fantastic character development when he makes a reappearance in What Happened to Goodbye) and how Wes and Macy got to know each other through the Truth game and the World of Waffles and all of it. So yayyyy, I’m really glad you’ve finally read it and that you enjoyed it as well! 😀

  2. Christa says:

    I’ve never read a Sarah Dessen novel *hides*

    I’m just not a big contemporary fan so I never think to pick them up. However there have been a number of contemporary books I’ve really enjoyed so I should give them a chance

  3. Brittany says:

    You know.. I haven’t read any Sarah Dessen either… EEK. BUT I did just buy one of her books at the used book store. I couldn’t pass it up!

Leave a Reply

