[discussion] Sever by Lauren Destefano

Haven’t read it yet? Check out my review over here!

My favourite part of books is discussing them with other fans. Because I want my reviews to remain spoiler-free as they’re more likely to be read by those who haven’t read the book yet, I’m also planning to post “book discussions” for many of the books I review.  Obviously, these book discussions will contain spoilers and much flailing. Maybe some intellectual-like discussion…but mostly flailing.

So I wasn’t really looking forward to reading Sever because I really, really, really strongly disliked Fever, but I heard it had more Linden in it, and it did! I really like Linden. I can’t explain why I like Linden. I think it’s because Rhine didn’t like Linden at first. I have a thing for unrequited love, I guess. I really wanted him to be happy. For awhile, I thought that maybe all my shipper dreams were about to come true. There were some hints to Linden/Rhine. I thought that maybe the carnival with Gabriel would affect the Gabriel/Rhine too much for it to continue (kind of like what happened to you-know-who/Katniss  in Mockingjay) and if that had happened maybe I wouldn’t have to hate Fever or Rhine, but no instead I suddenly found myself doing this:

BECAUSE WHAT THE ACTUAL HELL DESTEFANO YOU KILLED THE ONLY GOOD CHARACTER IN THE ENTIRE STORY. AND IT WAS FOR THE STUPIDEST REASON. AND IT WAS QUICK. AND USELESS. AND I HATE YOU. DISHONOUR ON YOU. DISHONOUR ON YOUR COW.

And honestly, that is all I wanted to talk about. I could care less about the rest of it. Forget the fact that Madame is actually Rose’s mother (lol seriously? seriously? like there are coincidences and then there is just ridiculousness). And okay, the fact that the Chemical Gardens references experiments done by Rhine’s parents was pretty cool. And I liked that there’s this whole unreliable narrator thing going on, even if I hate the narrator. I mean, why couldn’t Rhine be honest with her brother? Seriously? They’re freaking twins who lived on their own for years: did she honestly think he would trust Vaughn over her? UGH! Have a little common sense Rhine!

Oh! Oh! Also! The throwaway line about Cecily one day finding love again can go die in a fire. Yeah, I realize she’s fourteen and will likely find love again, but THERE WAS NO NEED TO INCLUDE IT BECAUSE CAN WE JUST REMEMBER LINDEN FOR A LITTLE WHILE SERIOUSLY. I don’t even remember who they guy they talked about was and I’m supposed to be okay with them being together. NOPE.

Man, for a series that I didn’t really care for, I sure do have a lot of feelings.

So what about you? Have any spoilery feelings you’d like to share about this book? Here’s the place to do it!

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book discussion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

