[Top Ten Tuesday] Favourite Romances

Top Ten Favourite Romances

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

10. Macy and Wes from The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

It wouldn’t be a YA romance list without Dessen on there somewhere, and of the Dessen books I’ve read, Macy and Wes top the list. There slow building romance integrated with self-discovery is romance at its best.

9. Ella and Drum from Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

The final scene in this book gives a new definition to the word “heartbreaking.” Sometimes two people are meant together, but they never get the chance to be. Romance isn’t just a build up to a kiss or “I love you.” Sometimes a romance is putting aside your feelings to do what needs to be done.

8. Anna and Étienne from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

From the moment they bumped into each other, I knew that Anna and Étienne were going to be everything that I wanted in a romance.  Not only does their romance take place in the most romantic city in the world, but the small moments that make up their fall into love are sure to make you nostalgic for new love.

7. Jessica Darling and Marcus Flutie from the Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty

Although I originally wasn’t a fan, by the end of the series I definitely, definitely was. There’s something about a couple that shouldn’t work but does, that focuses on the individual without forgetting the couple. Watching their relationship develop was wonderful, and I wish all romances were as intricate.

6. Nynaeve and Lan from The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

I just really love it when two characters challenge each other. Without changing who they are, they follow their dreams, even when it means being away from each other.

5. Cinder and Kai from Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I had to fight not to include the three other couples of the Lunar Chronicles series because Marissa is fantastic at writing characters and relationships. Cinder and Kai are my favourite of the bunch though because they fall in love for simple reasons that grow more complicated as they grow.

4. Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

This relationship is so much more than okay. It was an honour to watch them fall in love, and they will never stop making me hurt.

3. Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

If you do not love them (most ardently) we probably can’t be friends. And if it’s because classic literature just isn’t your thing, I recommend checking out The Lizzie Bennet Diaries instead.

2. Katsa and Po from Graceling by Kristin Cashore

What I love about this romance is that it is a romance of equals. This is so ridiculously rare in all forms of media. The respect that each of them has for the other is so beautiful, I can’t think about it without smiling.

1. Usagi and Mamoru from Bishojo Senshi Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi

This is my original otp, and it will always be my number one. I can guarantee that somehow the reason I read each of the above romances is because they somehow remind me of Usagi/Mamoru.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Favourite Romances

  1. meganm922 says:

    Hazel and Augustus made it to my list, too. I’ve seen Anna and Etienne on TONS of lists today!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday Post
    Megan @ Love, Literature, Art, and Reason

  2. aimee says:

    YES to Macy/Wes. Anna/Etienne, Jessica/Marcus, Cinder/Kai, Hazel/Augustus, Elizabeth/Darcy, and Usagi/Mamoru (always). I love how none of these are “speedy romances” – all of these ships take their time really getting to know each other before they can finally be together. And those moments, like Macy/Wes playing truth, Anna/Etienne and Jessica/Marcus’ many many conversations, Cinder/Kai constantly bumping into each other (and FLIRTING), Hazel/Augustus’ everything, Elizabeth/Darcy’s getting to know each other after gradual misunderstandings, and Usagi/Mamoru teasing each other, are really what make the stories and the relationships for me.

    (also, you are so right. EVERYTHING is an aspect of Mamoru/Usagi. Which is why it is the OTP of OTPs.)

    *really needs to read everything else on your list*

  3. Christa says:

    So I’ve only ever read the bottom half of you list but I agree with all of them!

  4. I wish I could tell you why I don’t have Usagi and Mamoru on my list. Maybe my mind was only on YA books? Either way, it’s an oversight. So many hearts and much feels for the both of them.

Leave a Reply

