[Top Ten Tuesday] Auto-Buy Authors

Top Ten Auto-Buy Authors

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

10. e. lockhart

I’ve yet to read an e. lockhart book that I didn’t enjoy. Although I don’t own any of her books yet, many of her books are at the top of my “to buy immediately” list. For more on why I love lockhart, check out my review of Fly on the Wall here and my reviews of the Ruby Oliver series here, here, here, and here.

9. Libba Bray

After Beauty Queens (review here) I would buy anything Libba Bray wrote. I would buy the stuff she scribbles on a napkin. This woman is seriously a genius. I also reviewed Going Bovine here.

Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)8. Tahereh Mafi

Mafi’s prose is so beautiful I would follow her into whatever genre she chose. I can’t wait to see what she has planned after the Shatter Me trilogy (reviews of books one and two here and here).

7. Kristin Cashore

The Seven Kingdoms series is literally one of my favourite things ever. Ever. Graceling, Fire, and Bitterblue are all fantastic, and I will read all the Cashore books forever.

6. Tamora Pierce

I have a long history of buying Pierce’s books. Back before I even realized that book releases existed, I would head straight over to the “P” section of the book store every time hoping, hoping,  hoping a new book of hers would be in. You can read my review of Mastiff (the third book in the Beka Cooper trilogy) here.

5. Stephanie Perkins

Now we enter into the author’s who I don’t only love because they write fantastic books, but who I actually love as individual human beings. Stephanie Perkins is one of the sweetest people on the planet, and her characters are some of the best out there. My review of Lola and the Boy Next Door (companion to Anna and the French Kiss) is here.

ProdIMG

Thanks to DFTBA records, now when people stare at your chest, Maureen Johnson can stare back!

4. Maureen Johnson

Simply put, Maureen Johnson is everything that I want to be. I respect everything about her, and if you are not following her on Twitter you are missing out on the best part of the world. Plus, she totally didn’t freak out too much when I cried in front of her, so I feel like I owe her my eternal customerhood. My review of her newest novel, The Madness Underneath (sequel to The Name of the Star) is here.

3. John Green

Because I’m a nerdfighter.

Review of The Fault in our Stars here.

2. Marissa Meyer

Because U_M girls are forever.

Review of Cinder here.

1. J. K. Rowling

Always.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Auto-Buy Authors

  1. beckireads says:

    That was a really interesting list, I enjoyed reading your reasons for your picks. Tamora Pierce is awesome, and she is an auto-buy for me too.

  2. meganm922 says:

    Tahereh Mafi and John Green made my list, too. =) Great picks. I still need to read a lot more books from many of those authors. It’s hard to make a list of 10 when I’ve only read one of two books by awesome authors!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesdays Post
    Megan @ Love, Literature, Art, and Reason

  3. Christa says:

    Well now I need to go out and read some e lockhart

  4. Courtney says:

    what a perfect list 🙂

    Always.

  5. Very interesting list: Stephanie Perkins, Maureen Johnson and John Green would definitely make my list as well!

  6. J.K. Rowling will ALWAYS be on my auto-buy list no matter what. Because she’s the QUEEN.

    Also, I love Stephanie Perkins and Tahereh Mafi! And of course, Marissa Meyer, who I have been telling everyone is the master of stories 😉

Leave a Reply

