Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×5

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Flesh and Stone by Steven Moffat

The Angels are closing in, and to make matters worse the crack in Amy’s wall seems to be following them, erasing people from time. As a miscalculation by the Doctor puts Amy in mortal peril, River Song fights to save them both without revealing the truth of who she is.

The problem with creating terrifying monsters is that it makes it really difficult to defeat them convincingly. Honestly, the Angels should have killed the Doctor an co. several times over if Moffat followed his own canon. And yeah, it was super creepy when the Angels moved, but it’s ridiculous that they were still in the form of Angels because no one is supposed to know what they look like: they only look like that when they’re being looked at! Also, the stone sound when they move doesn’t make sense… I mean you can’t be partly quantum locked! And since the Angels never existed, shouldn’t they have never been there in the first place? I mean, without the Angels, the ship wouldn’t have crashed, right? Whatever. I should know by now not to expect Moffat to make sense.

I did like the foreshadowing in this episode. River in particular has become more interesting now that I’ve watched her later episodes. I wish she could have gotten a bit more screen time. She’s fantastic.

Amy, on the other hand, is upsetting me. Seeing how much she’s grown in the later seasons make it really difficult to watch her now. Sure, she’s cute and brave, but it’s so squeamy when she kisses the Doctor. :/

Completely unrelated, did anyone else get Rose feelings when the Doctor stared out at what is obviously the same filming setting they used for Bad Wolf Bay and said “time can be rewritten.” I very rarely ship Eleven/Rose, but when I do, I ship them hard.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×5

  1. Christa says:

    Ugh the kiss at the end annoyed me. It just felt so unnecessary and I didn’t like seeing Amy reduced to some love struck air head.

    • megtao says:

      You can also look at it as her taking charge, I guess, but it’s hard to make that argument because they focus so much on the fact that she’s “running away,” so it’s kind of limiting…

      • Christa says:

        I guess it’s kind of her taking charge. But it still the eve of her wedding so what’s she’s doing is highly problematic. Plus the whole “running away” thing. Yeah….

  2. Caitlin says:

    I get Rose feelings whenever possible.

  3. Candice says:

    That angel is freaking me out.

Leave a Reply

