[discussion] Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Haven’t read it yet? Check out my review over here!

My favourite part of books is discussing them with other fans. Because I want my reviews to remain spoiler-free as they’re more likely to be read by those who haven’t read the book yet, I’m also planning to post “book discussions” for many of the books I review.  Obviously, these book discussions will contain spoilers and much flailing. Maybe some intellectual-like discussion…but mostly flailing.

I was trying to avoid talking about the love-triangle in my review because it’s hard to talk about it without giving away all the things, so finally I would like to say OMG I SO KNEW WARNER WAS PERFECT FOR HER. I KNEW IT. I KNEW IT. I KNEW IT IN THE HEART OF MY HEART AND I AM SO HAPPY.

After reading Unravel Me I can’t help but feel that both Adam and Warner see Juliette in two very different ways, and she is both of those Juliette’s or at least has the potential to be both of them. Maybe that’s why she’s having such a personality crisis… and if I was a stronger person, I’d say that she should be with neither of them, but I seriously love Warner way too much…

Also, I’d like everyone who is in love with Kenji to raise their hand.

image

He is the most perfect character I’ve ever read. I LOVE that he calls Juliette out on her moping with his whole “look at the big picture” rant. How many times have you been reading a book and the protagonist is whining about how much his/her life sucks and they’re in love with two people and one is an elf and one is a vampire and how will they ever CHOOSE and you just want to PUNCH THEM IN THE FACE. I felt like Kenji made up for all of those times. When he nearly died, I thought my heart was being ripped out of my body through my throat. It was horrible.

I’d also like to point out that in my Shatter Me discussion I TOTALLY CALLED that Adam and Warner had special powers.  I win.

Predictions for book three: death. Lots of death and lots of Meghan crying.

What are your thoughts on the love triangle? Who was your favourite character? Which characters do you think are going to bite the bullet in book three?

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to [discussion] Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. *raises hand* I love Kenji. Everyone can ship whatever they want otherwise. I pick Kenji to be my best friend forever and ever.

    Also, I definitely predict lots of death for book 3. I was actually talking about this with someone this morning. I just hope it’s not James. Seriously. I’ll be so unhappy. Like real tears. But yeah. If both Warner and Adam survive all of this my jaw will be ON THE FLOOR.

    • megtao says:

      I wouldn’t be particulary upset if Juliette ended up with Kenji honestly. I mean I’d rather he ended up with me, but what with him being an imaginary character and all… as long as he doesn’t die. He cannot die.

      Ahhh I could see James dying. My bet is definitely on a Warner death though, which will destroy me forever.

      • Yeah. I totally agree on the Warner front. And I think Castle’s out too with Kenji as heir apparent (which I want just to ensure Kenji lives forever and ever). I’m absolutely terrified of James dying and for some reason I don’t want bad things to happen to Winston, but it’s not looking good for Mr. Fantastic, is it?

        PS: I would not be surprised is Anderson had a power. ALL THREE of his sons from different mothers have powers. That seems fishy to me. I don’t think I’d like it, but I wouldn’t be surprised AT ALL.

    • megtao says:

      I am totally willing to sacrifice Castle to save Kenji. I really like Winston too, so ;A;

      And YES Anderson totally must have a power. He’s probably been using to help him get as far as he has too. I wonder what it is o_o

      • Maybe it’s manipulation or something. Like Adam dampens, Warner amplifies, James puts everything back to right (aka heals) and Anderson twists everything into something it’s not. Like everyone compliments each other in the craziest way possible. Maybe. >.<

    • megtao says:

      THAT IS SUPER CLEVER!! I HOPE YOUR RIGHT SIMPLY BECAUSE IT’S SO COOL WHEN IT’S PUT THAT WAY!

  2. Haha THANKS. At least, if I was going to give him a power that’s how I’d write it. But I never get what I want in books. EVER. *James please live pleaaaase*

  3. Lisa says:

    YES. My hand is raised quite high for the Kenji love train. SOMEONE needed to shake some sense into Juliette and boy did he try.

    Oh yes, I bet there is LOTS of death. I’m afeard.

    Also – WARNER FOREVERRRR.

  4. Ha ha, hand raised high and waving wildly! And he was such a non-character for me in the first book (mildly irritating too, though now I know that that was all part of his exceedingly clever plan!). He’s just full of awesome, especially when he made Juliette wake up to herself.

    I absolutely loved this book, it totally took over my life for the brief time it took me to read it. Haven’t written my review yet but it’s great to have a space to talk about all this!

    So in love with Warner too. I really really like Adam as well, but you’re right, they appeal to the two vastly different sides of her, so who she ends up with could partly depend on how she comes out of all this – though I wouldn’t be surprised at all if Mafi mellowed Warner to make him fit better. That is, I can see her writing Adam out at the end. I dunno. I keep thinking of the Glass trilogy by Maria V Snyder, the heroine ended up with the guy who’d tortured her in book 1! That worked so well in the context of the book, so I can see it working here too.

  5. After reading Unravel Me, I have now jumped ship… to Team Kenji! Honestly, he really comes into his own in this book. I love that Tahereh made him the one to call Juliette out on her s**t (pardon my language!), and I love that he’s not afraid to provoke or push her into doing things. And it’s awesome that he’s just her FRIEND and not yet another love interest. His role is getting bigger in this series and I LOVE IT SO MUCH.

Leave a Reply

