Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×6

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The Vampires of Venice by Toby Whithouse

The Doctor takes Amy and her fiance, Rory Williams, on a date to even the score between them He chooses early Venice: a seemingly romantic spot until they discover the vampires.

image

I more or less like this episode. It reminds me of RTD era Doctor Who: maybe because it’s one of the few episodes not written by Steven Moffat and there’s only a very small reference to the larger season arc. Amy and Rory’s relationship is still in an awkward sort of stage, and it’s hard for me to wrap my head around it. Looking back like this, I can’t help but feel that their relationship development was kind of…sucky, but Doctor Who isn’t about romantic relationships (or at least, it’s not supposed to be…), so that’s fine.

The villains were interesting, though I found the Doctor’s treatment of them to be strange. In the past, the Doctor has always been willing to help a stranded alien, he always gives them a chance to change. This time when he comes across someone who is able to match his own intellect, he turns his back on her because she didn’t know the name of one human? Not everyone has had hundreds of years of interaction with humans, Doctor. I was very disappointed with his choices, and I hope her final message to him hurt as much as she meant it to. I hope it was a wake up call.

Strange. I’m not used to being on the side of the villain, and I don’t think the writer meant for me to be, but there you go.

image

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×6

  1. Christa says:

    I agree. Their relationship development is kind of sucky. But at the same time I am glad they don’t spend more time on it because I think it would take away from the Doctor too much – and that’s why we watch right 😉

Leave a Reply

