Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×7

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Amy’s Choice by Simon Nye

Amy and Rory have left the Doctor behind for the new adventure of an ordinary life until one day the Doctor shows up on their doorstep. Or Amy, Rory, and the Doctor are stuck in a dead TARDIS, floating towards a cold star. Which is real? This choice has more at stake than just their lives.

I feel the gif to the left is a fairly good representation of my mind when watching this episode of the first time. The quick switching between realities leaves you focused on that immediate problem, but in my rewatch I find that the more interesting issue is of the Dream Lord himself. This episode is a rare look into the Doctor’s psyche, and for the most part it makes me love this twisted and wounded character. The fact that the Dream Lord spends most of his time hurling (true) insults at the Doctor shows just how much the one person that hates the Doctor is the Doctor himself. Coming just after Vampires of Venice where the Doctor wasn’t at his best, I think we can understand why he might feel that way.

The only moment where I felt we weren’t actually seeing into the Doctor’s mind is when the Dream Lord puts on a velvet robe and insinuates that he and Amy should make use of their alone time. As an adamant Amy/Eleven FRIENDshipper, any time a romantic aspect of their relationship is pushed forward, it makes me feel slightly ill. I mean, he’s known her since she was a child. It’s just wrong. And I really wish Moffat would leave that trope alone.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×7

  1. Christa says:

    I also loved the look into the Doctor’s psyche. And I agree with you. Let the love triangle die Moffat. No one wants that.

Leave a Reply

