[Top Ten Tuesday] OMG endings

Top Ten OMG WTF JUST HAPPENED endings

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Sometimes a book or series’ ending can be mind-blowing and sometimes it just blows.

10. Nevermore by James Patterson

Patterson didn’t have much of a choice with this one. He created too many plotlines to be able to solve them all. Still, the fact that he doesn’t give closure to the majority of the main characters, including my favourite character, makes it impossible to understand let alone appreciate this ending.

9. Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

When you spend basically three books building up to a battle, there sure as hell better be a battle. I’m not pro-character death or anything, but I am pro-endings that don’t wuss out.

8. The End by Lemony Snicket

He promised us an unhappy ending. I just didn’t believe him until that last page.

7.  Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

This is the first book ending that made me rage. Thinking about it, I’m still in a rage.

6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Everyone told me I was going to cry, and then I thought I’d made it through to the end, that they’d exaggerated, that everything was going to be okay, and then nothing was okay. Nothing could ever be okay ever again.

5. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I literally had to read the ending of this book five times to understand what was happening, and even then I didn’t really get it until I read Mockingjay. This ending actually gave me whiplash!

4. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

When you spend an entire book believing one thing to be true and discover another, it changes your whole perspective. I can promise Days of Blood and Starlight‘s (my review is coming soon!) ending is just as twisty!

3. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

I don’t want to talk about it.

2. Starters by Lissa Price

Ahahahaha I actually flipped out at this ending! I couldn’t believe it! This is the kind of ending that makes you want to read the next immediately, but in a good way!

1. The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson

THIS ENDING IS BRILLIANT AND WILL NEVER BE OKAY.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] OMG endings

  1. Christa says:

    I still can’t talk about the ending of Pandemonium </3

  2. aimee says:

    Honestly, if Breaking Dawn had been well written/had an actual, well-thought ending (or actually, been well-thought the whole way through), I wouldn’t have felt like I wasted AS MUCH time with the Twilight series as I did. And yeah, if you spend like three books hinting at a battle, I expect a real battle at the end. What the hell.

    I’ve read Tuck Everlasting, but I can’t even remember it anymore. What was so ragey about the ending?

    So glad I wasn’t the only one who had to read Catching Fire’s ending multiple times to get it!

    *needs to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone* *and the Shades of London series*

    Hahahaha, I can’t wait until you read Requiem.

  3. Annabelle H says:

    EEk! I really must check some of these out! Oh gosh and the ending of breaking dawn so damn disappointing!

    My Top Ten Tuesday!

  4. Oh my god yes. I was so angry with the ending of Breaking Dawn. UGHHHH. Made me so mad. It was sooo ridiculous. AGH. I rage just thinking about it.

  5. Lisa says:

    I was honestly 2 seconds away from putting Tuck Everlasting on my list too. I actually don’t know why I didn’t. Such a lovely book.

  6. Totally agree with the assessment of breaking dawn and thief of time pretty much made me cry too.

  7. I hope you know that I use your blog as a guide for my personal reading list. This post is no exception. I must admit that the crazy things we call life made me put down The Book Thief and I haven’t picked it back up as of yet. I might have to do that tonight.

Leave a Reply

