Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×9

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of More Than Just Magic and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Cold Blood by Chris Chibnall

The Doctor heads underground to save Amy and the others, but while the Time Lords away, can the humans be the best they can and avoid beginning World War III: Lizard People edition?

There really wasn’t enough in these episodes for them to be two of them, I think. I mean, I enjoyed the underlying theme of humanity and who really has claim over the Earth: those who lived there first or those who live there now. But I still think it could have been shortened.

And is it just me or have like 90% of the villains in season five been women? (I mean when there was a physical villain who had a gender.) Maybe it’s just the recent episodes making it feel like that. I really wish I could ignore gender in the Moffat episodes because blahhhh

In other news, I almost cried when Rory died even though I’ve seen this episode twice before. I mean his last words are “You’re so beautiful. I’m sorry.” And it’s like…freaking Rory Williams! How is any guy possibly going to compare when you say shit like that!

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×9

  1. Christa says:

    I agree. I think this plot would have better been served by just one episode. It says some interesting things but it feels overly long. And I actually yelled out loud when Rory died. Not fair!

Leave a Reply

