[Top Ten Books] Pre-Blog Favourites

Top Ten Favourite Books I Read Before I Was a Blogger

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

10. Looking for Alaska by John Green

Before TFIOS, this was my favourite of John Green’s books. 

9. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Love love love the narrative style of this book! One of the few books I read for school that I adored. 

8. The Hollow Kingdom by Clare B. Dunkle

This book stuck with me in such an unnatural way. I always have trouble remembering the title, but there are scenes that remain crystal clear in my mind. A couple years back I discovered that it had become a trilogy and it was the best news I’d ever received. It’s a supernatural romance that predates the supernatural romance trend and avoids most of its tropes. AND IT HAS A GOBLIN KING

image

7. The Hunter’s Moon by O. R. Melling

This was my very first faerie book, and it completely enchanted me. 

6. Wolf Tower by Tanith Lee

This book has one of my biggest OTPs. For the longest time all I would read was Tamora Pierce and this book.

5. Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

I know I’ve spoken about this book before because it is just that good. Sci-fi/dystopian at its very best. 

4. I Want to Go Home by Gordon Korman

This book remains the most hilarious book I’ve read in my life. I lost my copy somewhere, and that’s just devastating to me like I can’t even explain. Like I will marry the first person to find me a copy of this book, honestly. 

3. Alanna: The Lioness by Tamora Pierce

Obviously I adore all of Pierce’s books, but this was the one that started it all. 

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I have never read a book so quickly as I read this book. Thinking back, I’m still in awe of it. 

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

I know it’s getting old, but… ALWAYS.

image

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to [Top Ten Books] Pre-Blog Favourites

  1. The Hunger Games is also on my list! 🙂 And I’m also a Harry Potter fan though I forgot to include it on my TTT. Aw.

    Julie @ Books and Insomnia

  2. Krista says:

    Hunger Games and HP made my list too. And, yes, you can never go wrong with a book with a Goblin King. Especially one as sexy as David Bowie. 🙂

    Here’s mine: TTT @ Krista’s Dust Jacket

  3. Candice says:

    I haven’t heard of most of these! They sound pretty fantastic though! Also… yummo David Bowie! 🙂

  4. Christa says:

    Hooray for a fellow Oryx and Crake fan!

    And I’m really intrigued by The Hollow Kingdom! Will definitely check that out

  5. Brittany says:

    Harry Potter never gets old!!! 🙂 I always have THG & Harry Potter on every list haha.
    And OMG I love the Labyrinth gif! If I was reading about a goblin king, that’s totally how I’d picture him.
    There’s a new local brewery in my area and they named one of their beers “Oubliette” and that quote from the movie just ran through my mind…
    Hoggle: This is an oubliette, labyrinth’s full of ’em. Sarah: Really. I didn’t know that. Hoggle: Oh don’t act so smart. You don’t even know what an oubliette is.
    Haha, okay sorry, total side tangent about The Labyrinth…. But I had to!

  6. Annabelle H says:

    I need to read the Song of the Lioness series, I want to so badly! Oh and Harry Potter and Hunger Games are amazing! Happy Reading!

    My Top Ten!

  7. Lisa says:

    Oryx & Crake is one of my very favorite books. Excellent choice! (And, of course, Harry Potter and Alanna rock).

    Lisa
    My TTT

  8. Lisa says:

    THE HOLLOW KINGDOM YES FOREVER.
    I fell in love with a Goblin, Meghan. THIS IS SERIOUS.

    • megtao says:

      OMG SOMEONE ELSE WHO READ IT OMG OMG OMG THIS MAKES ME SO HAPPY LISA YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW. ISN’T MALAK COMPLETELY SWOONY LIKE BEYOND ALL SWOONINESS AND THE SECOND PART OF THE BOOK WITH HOW BADASS SHE IS AND THE SNAKE THE SNAKE THE FREAKING SNAKE AND DOG MY DOG AND YOUR DOG AND THIS BOOK LISA THIS BOOK IS ALL SORTS OF PERFECTION HAVE YOU READ THE OTHER BOOKS IN THE TRILOGY YET? THEY’RE NOT AS GOOD BUT THEY’RE STILL FREAKING AWESOME AND THERE’S MORE MALAK AND IT’S LIKE ALL I WANT IS MORE MALAK ALL THE TIME

      • Lisa says:

        I’ve read the second book in the series but have yet to read the third. WHAT AM I WAITING FOR.

        Seriously this book like blew me away when I was reading it. It was more precious than a hidden gem. It was like a hidden GOLD MINE that no one had told me about. I dunno how I even discovered The Hollow Kingdom but my life was FOREVER CHANGED when I did.

        Seriously Marak is like the swooniest of the swoon and he’s not even physically attractive. How did Dunkle do that?! TAKE NOTE, all YA authors! Clare is rockin’ that swoon something FIERCE.

    • megtao says:

      I found this book at the library back when I would literally judge a book by its cover and just took any book whose title sounded interesting. I kind of miss doing that because you honestly discover some of the best books that way! Now everything is so marketed and money based and it takes the fun out of finding that perfect book, you know? Ahh childhood…

      I still pictured him as attractive XD I mean, I know he’s kind of scary looking, though compared to the other goblins he’s like pretty XD but yeah the fact that she’s initially disgusted/scared of his appearance is like the ultimate thing because it’s all Beauty and the Beast with the “appearance doesn’t matter” and then just the fact that he is INCREDIBLY HOT without being incredibly hot is just ahhhh why why aren’t all books like this book!!!

  9. Nice selection of books.

    My Top Ten

    Have a great week!

  10. HARRY POTTER FOREVER. If I’d made a TTT list, I would definitely have put the series on there. It’s basically what got me into YA and even more involved in reading.

    Also – I love Tamora Pierce too. Even though I read her later on in life (I was already in college), I just think she is PHENOMENAL. And now I just want to read her books all over again!

Leave a Reply

