[review] Promised by Caragh M. O’Brien

Warning: Contains spoilers of the first two books: Birthmarked and Prized.

Gaia leads her people back to Sylum. Not yet comfortable as a leader, she knows when they arrive she’ll have to deal with the Protectorat, but while she’s been gone Sylum has undergone many changes. New sciences are being developed, and if Gaia wants to save her people, she may have to trade her life.

Promised (Birthmarked, #3)Well, I finished this series.

It wasn’t easy but I did it.

What I liked about this book was the fact that actions (sometimes) had consequences.

What I didn’t like about this book was the weak resolution of a love triangle and the drawn out nature of the plot.

I began this book because I thought it would be an interesting commentary on woman’s experience, but that didn’t happen so much in this book. And if it did, it obviously went over my head.

Honestly, I’m just happy to be done. For those who haven’t began the series yet, I would say don’t bother. The ending really isn’t worth it, and there are far better female-centered dystopians out there.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Ah. I’m just so upset about this book.” – Carina’s Books

“Definitely a fun and interesting series. I would recommend it to those who enjoy young adult and dystopian novels.” – Amy Reads

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [review] Promised by Caragh M. O’Brien

  1. I wasn’t impressed with this one either. I liked the first one a lot, second was meh, and this one was just plain boring. What a let down of an ending.

    • megtao says:

      I had my doubts from the beginning, but there was enough redeeming characteristics in the first book for me to hang in there, but yeah…not worth it at all.

  2. I actually really liked the first book and even the second book to an extent, but this one definitely wasn’t that great.

Leave a Reply

