[review] Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld

Warning: Possible spoilers for The Secret Hour.

The Midnighters’ danger is only beginning. While the two couples worry about their new romances, Dess struggles with a problem that could unravel the secret  of their past.

24767The increase in action is much appreciated, but much like in The Secret HourI wasn’t exactly impressed.

The speed of events affected the character development, which I found to be severely lacking, though this may be due to the fact that it’s been over a year since I read the first book. The fact that I was able to fall back into the story without too much difficulty is proof of Westerfeld’s story telling ability, even if I’m not super impressed by this particular story. There were some interesting twists, and I would love to see more of the golden time of Bixby back before the Midnighters disappeared.

I feel as if this story is written more for a young-teen age group (I’m thinking 13-15), and unfortunately the older I get, that young adult verging on middle grade story telling no longer works for me. Younger readers, however, who are not quite ready for Uglies and feel like they’re a little too old for Leviathan may want to give this series a try.

I just started the third in the trilogy, Blue Noon, and the focus so far is on character development, so I once again find that I have hope.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“…it is good but I feel most of it was just as set up for the third book after we got the character introduction from the first book.” – Misheal @ Book in the Bag

“The action throughout is nicely spaced out, just the right amount to keep things moving without being so fast paced you can’t keep up.” – A Trillian Books

“Westerfeld creates his characters as effectively as he creates his world.” – Fyrefly’s Book Blog

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld

  1. I am really honored that you quoted me! Thank you very much! Though you did transpose the “e” and the “a” in my time. It is a very common mistake with my name, so I understand, but would greatly appreciate if you fixed that! Thanks!

  2. Pingback: [review] Blue Noon by Scott Westerfeld | coffeeandwizards

Leave a Reply

