[review] Starters by Lissa Price

When the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty, the children without grandparents found themselves alone and without any means of supporting themselves (thanks to legislations that doesn’t allow young people to work). Now Callie must find a way to support herself and her younger, very sick brother. Could Prime Destinations, a company that would pay her to “rent” out her body to the ageing Ender population, be the answer? Or is their offer of enough money to support her and her brother too good to be true?

Starters (Starters, #1)The premise of this book hooked me from the very beginning. Last summer I went through a Joss Whedon faze and watched both Firefly and Dollhouse in about two weeks. (I highly recommend both series, by the way.) Starters has the same sort of premise as Dollhouse, which is what initially drew me to the book, but other than the premise (and it’s fondness for twists you didn’t see coming), they’re nothing alike.

One thing I really loved about Starters was the protagonist, Callie. Callie is everything I love to see in a protagonist: she’s brave, she’s smart, and she’s self-sacrificing. She does everything she possibly can to keep her little brother Tyler safe. I felt that I could really relate to Callie because she often did what I would do if I were placed in the same situation. Even so, she has her flaws. There are times when she comes close to breaking down, but she pushes through odds that would make most people crumble, and she does what she has to in order to survive.

The plot itself was slow at points, but overall was pretty well paced. There were times when I felt I could not put the book down because I NEEDED to know what happened next. There were a lot of little plots going on that built up to one larger plot, which is great if you’re good at keeping characters and situations straight in your head. The last fifty pages or so, however, were kind of disappointing. There was a work up to a big climax, and suddenly we went from a book full of showing to a whole lot of telling. At some points, it felt too easy. Some things fell in to place a bit too quickly.

Even so, the ending definitely made up for it. In my review of Above I mentioned how sometimes there can be a twist that completely changes your perspective of the book. Starters has one of those twists. It was something that I had a slight tickle in my mind might have been possible for the briefest of moments, but then there was so much going on that I forgot about it. AND THEN the twist was revealed AND I DIED.

Ever wanted to be emotionally compromised? This is the book for you.

Books with similar aspects

Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari

Wither by Lauren Destefano

recommended to Joss Whedon fans, dystopian fans, and fans of really complicated romances

not recommended to those who don’t like sci-fi and prefer their romance with a side of normal

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Look, if you want to read a book where you will have REACTIONS and heart palpitations and feel righteous indignation, then obviously Starters by Lissa Price will be your jam.” April @ Good Books and Good Wine

“This is a really fun book and if you’re looking for an exciting read that really packs a punch this will be right up your alley.” Christa @ Hooked on Books

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
I really want to talk about that ending, so a discussion post will likely be going up Saturday.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to [review] Starters by Lissa Price

  1. Candice says:

    I thought this sounded similar to Dollhouse too – which you’re right; it’s a great show! I’ve heard lots about the twist in this book which of course I’m all for. I do love a good shocking twist!

  2. This book is next up on my TBR. I’ve not watched too much Joss Whedon (please don’t hate me!) but I’ve heard lots of good things about this book, especially about the action and the twists and things. I have a feeling it’s going to be one of those books where there are things that bother me but I won’t be able to concentrate on them for too long because ALL OF THE THINGS will be distracting me!

    • megtao says:

      I have a feeling it’s going to be one of those books where there are things that bother me but I won’t be able to concentrate on them for too long because ALL OF THE THINGS will be distracting me! That’s probably a fairly good description, though I still can’t think of too much that bothered me because of THE TWIST OMG THE TWIST.

  3. This was such a fun book and the twist was a good one! I did not see it coming at all. Also apparently I need to watch Dollhouse now!

  4. IT IS ALL ABOUT THE TWIST. Seriously, like you said an ending or a big twist can change and shape your whole perception of a book, good or bad. And personally, I loved the twist in Starters even if it completely creeped me out.

    SO gratified that you enjoyed Starters.

    Also? I am dying to check out Firefly and Dollhouse. That will be my tv project after Friday Night Lights, I think.

  5. I totally just bought this and I am super excited to read it. I’m going to have a very dystopian summer, but it’s great! And I bought it while I was with my brother, and he commented on how cool the cover looked, so hopefully it’s a book I can pass on to him when I’m done. Yea to boys reading!

Leave a comment