Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×5

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The Poison Sky by Helen Raynor

The Sontarans advance on Earth. The Doctor tries to keep them at bay while at the same time preventing UNIT from launching nuclear missiles. Meanwhile, Martha is acting strange, and Donna is trapped on the Sontaran vessel. 

The more I watch of season four, the more I love it. Because I’m enjoying it so much, most of my notes on the episode are in all-caps and full of emoticons (i.e. ROOOOOSE!, ROSSSSSSS ;A;, MARTHA CLONE :C , and LUKE :(, etc.). And I think that’s a good thing. I like that Doctor Who can make me feel connected to characters I’ve known for less than an hour.  Or, like in the case of Brigardier, have never met at all. (He’s stuck in Peru!)

Something that I found really interesting about this episode is how much the Doctor seems to take a back seat role. And I don’t just mean he manipulates things from behind the scenes. (Do something clever with your life? Really, Doctor. I totally see what you did there.) It’s really interesting since I’ve been watching the later seasons to see how the Doctor has changed and the different way he is portrayed since Moffat took over. (Spoilers: I don’t like it.)

I also find the Sontaran’s fascinating. As an all male-race (or so I assume since we only see males and they are cloned not born), it’s odd that they have a concept of women or have such hatred for them. (The Sontarans make frequent sexist remarks throughout both episodes.) I feel like the Sontarans are the embodiment of misogyny and what happens when you don’t have balance between the sexes, which is why it is so very satisfying when Donna knocks one out.

Favourite Quote

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×5

  1. I love your analysis of The Sontaran. I hadn’t even considered that and now I’m even more fascinated by them.

  2. Pingback: Doctor Who Watch a Thon Season 4x5 "The Poison Sky" - More Than Just Magic | More Than Just Magic

Leave a comment