[review] Fracture by Megan Miranda

Delaney Maxwell should be dead. In fact she was dead. But now she’s something different. Something that her best friend and rescuer Decker can’t understand. Something that the mysterious Troy may help her to accept.

Fracture (Fracture, #1)I was first drawn to this book by the cover, and to be honest I’m not quite sure what I was expecting. I read this book over two months ago, and my notes on this book are all positive, but my recollection of the story and characters are hazy. It’s not the kind of book that sticks with you.

What I do remember liking about this book is how the title applies to each of the characters, not only the protagonist. In a way, they are all “fractured,” and when you think about it, we’re all a little bit fractured. Sometimes it takes a near-death experience to make that evident; sometimes it does not. I wish that we’d gotten a chance to dig deeper into the characters because of this. We got a lot of surface exploration with hints at something deeper.

On that vein, I didn’t like how the book called attention to its own metaphors. And as much as I adored Decker, I would have loved it more if this wasn’t yet another book that shows that girls and boys can never be just friends. Finally, I loved the fact that Les Mis was a part of this book. Les Mis always gets bonus Meghan points.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Fracture is a book I’ll be talking about to every reader I meet.” – Angel @ Mermaid Visions

“I liked FRACTURE, Megan Miranda’s debut. I did. But I wished there was more of it. More meat on its bones. Or something.” – Amy @ Tripping Over Books

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] Fracture by Megan Miranda

  1. Les Mis typically gets bonus points with me as well.

    Fractured seems like a quick read though. I think I will check it out, someday.

Leave a comment