[review] Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Vol 2 by Naoko Takeuchi

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Vol. 2 (Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon Renewal Editions, #2)Volume 2 of this classic manga contains more elements you’ll recognize from season 1 of the anime: namely the reveal of Tuxedo Mask’s identity to his kidnap and transformation. Usagi/Mamoru shippers won’t be disappointed, and fans of the anime will enjoy seeing a more complex version of their favourite characters, especially Usagi who is more well-rounded in the manga than she is in the anime. There’s also some great Silver Millennium backstory, which is probably my favourite Sailor Moon time period to explore.

As far as art work goes, Takeuchi-san is wonderful. The expressions on her characters faces really pull at your heart. And Mamo-chan is so handsome I can’t even deal. Seriously, I am in love with a drawn character. It hurts.

Like most mangas, this is a fast read, but that’s not because there isn’t a lot of material. There is over 200 pages in this volume, so it’s well-worth buying (as I know many libraries don’t carry manga…though they’re beginning to!)

If you’re not a Moonie yet, I definitely recommend starting with the manga. There is a great Sailor Moon community, and it’s one of my favourite fandoms.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [review] Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Vol 2 by Naoko Takeuchi

  1. Elizabeth R says:

    I recently just completed the entire Anime Series and now I was wondering about getting into the Manga. I realize it is better to watch with the subtitles than the dubbed.

  2. I just want to put this on this post: ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Samantha says:

    So. Much. Love.

    Thanks to the new release of the manga I’m finally reading it XD I’ve read the first two volumes, but I need to take a trip into the city so I can pick up the rest of it as well as Codename Sailor V.

Leave a comment