Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×17

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The End of Time pt 1 by Russell T Davies

The Doctor’s song is ending. He will knock four times.

I think RTD’s intention for The End of Time pt 1 was to rip out my heart and stamp all over, and he succeeded. It’s like he’s slowly tearing a bandaid off my feelings, inch by painful inch. Donna’s storyline hurts so much more than the first time I watched these because I can focus on that rather than the fact that Ten is going away, and man does it ever hurt. The fact that she’s still in there, getting by, and that she’s still fighting to help… there’s not enough tissues in the world for my tears.

The humour of the episode makes sure that you don’t shatter into a million pieces just yet. The fact that the Doctor apparently got married and deflowered the Virgin Queen is something I did not catch the first time. It made me laugh even as my Rose/Doctor shipper heart winced. Also, the relationship between Abigail and her father made me laugh because they are SUPER CREEPY. Like incest creepy. Donna’s mother is so much cooler in this episode and I no longer hate her. And did anyone else think the Master just became the human race in hopes of the Doctor loving him as much as he loves the humans? Yeah, I ship Master/Doctor now. I guess it was only a matter of time…

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×17

  1. Christa says:

    Abigail and her father were super creepy!

    And I had not considered that Master wanting the Doctor’s love angle but now it’s all I can think about.

  2. The first time I saw the episode, I thought Abigail and her father were married. That opinion didn’t change even after I found out they were ‘only’ father and daughter. Creepy doesn’t even begin to describe them!

Leave a Reply

