Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×13

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of More Than Just Magic and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The Big Bang by Steven Moffat

“The Doctor’s stuck in the Pandorica. Amy might be dead and Rory’s a Roman with a gun inside his hand. Seems like things aren’t going as planned.” – Chameleon Circuit

As much as I love the timey-wimey aspect of Doctor Who, I didn’t find myself enjoying this episode as much in my rewatch. Perhaps because I knew all the little twists. I think sometimes Moffat hides behind his twists, and when you take that away you’re not left with much else.

Plus, half of these twists don’t make sense when looked at closely. In the final universe, Amelia Pond did not grow up with the crack in her wall, with the universe seeping into her dreams, so how did she remember the Doctor?

On a first watch, the episode is fun and fast-paced, and it’s nice that the season ends on a high note. That hasn’t really happened before in New Who (unless you consider season three’s finale with Martha’s departure by choice happy). For once, everybody lives and everybody gets to keep their memories, and I guess I’ll just have to settle for that and move on to season 6.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×13

  1. Christa says:

    I was kind of disappointed by the way everything was resolved. Like Amy just had to remember him?

    But it was all worth it for that shot of the Doctor dancing.

  2. I liked the episode. The Doctor’s dancing made it for me. I agree a bit with Christa on the remembering thing but you could say the same thing for the season 3 finale. When everyone had to think the Doctor’s name to restore him.

    • megtao says:

      I don’t think that’s the same thing honestly. For one, RTD set up the power of a story and words in the second episode of the season (the Shakespeare one), and two there was the addition of the psychic field. Any of the memory stuff wasn’t really set up until the end of the season, and like I pointed out in my overview of the episode, it doesn’t even make sense because that Amy didn’t grow up with the crack in her wall.

Leave a Reply

