[review] The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

Transcript

Hey everyone this is Meghan from Coffee & Wizards. Today I’m here to talk about this book: The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan. It is the fourth novel in the Percy Jackson series. It isn’t my favourite of the series.

Rick Riordan tries to age his characters and the plot along with his readers. The problem with this is I find the series loses a lot of its charm and a lot of the elements that made me love it so much. For example, there’s much more focus on the love interest, love triangle kind of element to the story, which is, you know, fine, but not why I was reading the book in the first place.

The stakes are much higher in this book. There’s some new myths mixed in there, which is fun. It just felt a bit like more of the same, but without as much of the original spirit of the first book that I loved so much. It’s not a bad series by any means. There’s certainly exciting moments. It just doesn’t do it for me as much as the first book did.

I’m still excited to see how the series will end. The prophecy plotline has been going on throughout the four novels, which was nice. I liked that aspect of it. So hopefully the conclusion will be worth the build up.

Thank you for listening. If you enjoyed this or any of my other reviews, don’t forget to subscribe. I’ll leave all of my contact information down below, and if you’ve read the Percy Jackson series, let me know what you thought of it, and I would also like to know what you think about his other series. He’s written two other series that I know of: Heroes of Olympus and then another one that I’m not quite sure what it’s called. Let me know if those are any good, if I should be checking those out as well. Thanks guys. See you next time.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“The book ends, as always, with a cliffhanger – and it’s definitely one that’ll make you want to go straight into reading the fifth book straightaway (which I did)!” – Alexa Loves Books

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [review] The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

  1. Candice says:

    I don’t remember this one being a favorite of mine… but I do love the Percy and Annabeth relationship. It’s just cute to me, but mostly when they’re supposed to be younger. The next series, Heroes of Olympus, is good, but it’s not Percy. So don’t expect the same charm. I listened to the first book of the Kane Chronicles (that’s the series you weren’t sure about) and reeeeaaallly didn’t like it. No, I mean, it was okay, but not my cup of tea. It focuses on Egyptian mythology, which is not a favorite of mine. Anyway… the next book in the Percy Jackson series is pretty good with everything coming to an end. Hope you enjoy it more than the 4th one!

    • megtao says:

      I didn’t like that they turned Annabeth into a love interest. I liked her better as the cool, smart best friend to be honest.

      I used to like Egyptian mythology, but I’ve always preferred Greek. Hm, I think I’ll definitely check out Heroes, but I might hold off on Kane for now. Thanks for the info!

  2. Emma says:

    I loooooooooooooooooooooove the last book! I hope you do too!

Leave a Reply

