Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×14

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

HI I’M BACK! Sorry about the unannounced hiatus! Between school and work and general exhaustedness, I couldn’t find the time or will to post the last few weeks, but it’s not really Coffee & Wizards if I’m not playing catch up, is it?

The Next Doctor by Russell T Davies

Alone once more the Doctor travels to 19th century London on Christmas Eve only to discover another Doctor has gotten there first.

Having watched the eleventh Doctor’s recent Christmas episode since my last DW Watch-a-Thon post, reminded me how much I miss the Tennant series. The budget was worse, the plot lines were less “epic” in scale, but there is something innate “Doctor Who-ish” about them that often feels like it’s missing or doesn’t quite fit in the sixth and seventh seasons.

That’s not to say that this episode is perfect. If anything, after Journey’s End it’s pretty humdrum. Cyberman? Been there. Seen that. And when you know everything that’s going to happen, it kind of takes away from the suspense of this new doctor and there’s no real worry that Ten will die…in this episode at least.

And I actually have some big issues with the villain in this episode. (If you know me at all, you’re probably not surprised.) The villain is an woman who takes cares of children at a work house. She is obviously very angry with society, but especially with men. You later discover this is because she was once attacked: “Yet another man come to assert himself against me in the night.” She is portrayed as having a strong mind and will, which has been twisted by hatred and thoughts of revenge. In the end, the Doctor gives her the opportunity to redeem herself, but when she ignores his offer, he destroys her.

Now, his offer at redemption really wasn’t much of an offer, as it never is. Basically, he says “you can’t have what you want, but I can give you this instead, which you don’t want at all, and if you don’t say yes, then I will destroy you really have no reason to believe I’m dangerous because look at me I’m in a hot air balloon.”  Now maybe if he’d said something like “I recognize that you’ve lived a shite life and have been treated unfairly because of your gender. I can take you to a place where things are better than that and you can be recognized for the amazing person that you are” she would have actually agreed to go. Probably not, but I’d feel a whole lot better about the whole thing instead of feeling like any woman who is angered by her situation in life due to inequality is automatically evil. (I won’t even mention the whole evil women in sexuality thing either… Oh look, I did mention it. Oops.)

But maybe that’s just me being my usual picky self.

Favourite Quotes

Even if it should be hearts because you TOTALLY HAVE TWO OF THEM DOCTOR.

Also, am I the only one who cried when they applauded him? Just me. Yeah, okay.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×14

  1. Christa says:

    Welcome back!!

    And I also had mixed feelings toward this episode, including the villain. It just paled in comparison to other episodes from season 4

  2. Mary says:

    Hello, I’m Mary from Ocean Owl. I’ve tagged you in a blog meme over at my blog: http://oceanowl.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/weirdest-things-blog-meme/

Leave a Reply

