Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×4

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The Time of the Angels by Steven Moffat

While making a visit to a museum, the Doctor receives a message from someone from his past and his future. Together with Amy they will encounter an old enemy: the weeping angels.

If nothing else, I will always respect Moffat’s ability to create terrifying villains. The Weeping Angels are terrifying. I’m not sure how you can watch any episode with them in it and not leave it with an irrational fear of statues.

The episode itself is interesting enough, I suppose. I enjoy the Church as an army thing. I know River Song tends to split the fandom, but I fall on the “love her” side, especially at this point in the series. Amy is still disappointing me. By now she should know there are times to listen to the Doctor…like when he tells you that your hand is not stone or not to look in the eyes of the angel. I do appreciate her cleverness, though.

The speech at the end of this episode has always been a favourite of mine, but rewatching this episode it felt pretty forced. Angel!Bob was asking some pretty stupidly unnecessary questions that were obviously a set up to this quote. This realization made the quote less effective, drawing me out of the episode, but I guess that’s to be expected in a rewatch.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×4

  1. Christa says:

    I’m right there with you on the “love her” side when it comes to River. I think she’s fabulous.

Leave a Reply

