[review] Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

When a dead body shows up on Eric’s lawn, it’s up to Sookie to not only clear his name, but figure out who framed him in the first place and why.

Deadlocked (Sookie Stackhouse, #12)I read the Sookie Stackhouse novels a couple of summers ago and absolutely loved them. When I enjoyed the tv series of the book series (True Blood), though not quite as much as the books. Then the third season of True Blood wrecked my favourite book and I gave up on it. Then I read this book and I wondered why I was still reading this series at all.

Simply, it feels like Harris is just going through the motions. The spark that made me fall in love with this series is no longer there. It feels like Harris is just pulling twists out of nowhere instead of planning things out.  I hate it when series drag on purely because they’re popular.

Also, any enjoyment I might have gotten out of some hot scenes with Eric was trashed when they didn’t happen. Come on! You’re taking all the fun out of this series! If there isn’t vampire sex, why am I reading it? (Kidding…mostly.)

Books with similar aspects

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Destined by P. C. Cast and Kristin Cast

recommended to …die hard Sookie Stackhouse fans?

not recommended to everyone else

Don’t just take my word for it!

“In many ways DEADLOCKED showcases the true strengths in Charlaine Harris’ writing.” – Paperback Dolls

“If you’re looking for a fun read, or the lightness of earlier books in the series, you won’t find it here.” – SookieVerse

“I have loved Sookie and her world for a long time, but after this book it seems to me that it’s running out of juice.” – Bloody Bookaholic

 Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to [review] Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

  1. Elizabeth R says:

    I think that the lack of exciting plot lines is due to the series coming to an end soon. The book showed so much promised but I felt that she was just wrapping up loose ends.

  2. “Then I read this book and I wondered why I was still reading this series at all.”
    THIS!
    Honestly when I read this book last year I thought the exact same thing. I loved the first handful of books in this series but then they just seemed to get sloppy and annoying. No more Sookie Stackhouse novels for me.

  3. hotchixie says:

    Funny, I’d felt that way about her last few books, but I loved this book. I felt like it pushed the main plot forward, instead of being a bridge book. Finally Sookie started opening up to Sam about her problems. Finally she started venting her frustrations. I love that Sookie is so sweet, but I also felt like her tolerance level was too high. Except for the fact that (spoiler alert) she didn’t tell Claude off, or at least tell him how disappointed she was in him, she started standing up for herself. This one was all about Sookie – which is why I read the books, because I love this character. Her emotions; she had so many ups and downs in this book. She’s starting to want something more than just the drama of hanging with the supes. She wants to move forward with her life like most normal people.
    I think that in the past, Sookie has gone through so many different relationships so quickly that we’ve come to expect that. But now Harris is taking her time getting to the point with Eric that reader’s feel like she’s dragging her feet.

    • megtao says:

      Sookie is an awesome character, but this felt like as much of a bridge book as the rest. If there’s a point to this story, I’m not seeing it.

      • hotchixie says:

        Yeah, I guess I can see how most people see it as a bridge book. I love to read about characters that I like moving forward emotionally, but thinking about it, there wasn’t a lot of action that put the story forward.

Leave a comment