[review] Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs


Transcript

Hey everyone this is Meghan from Coffee & Wizards. Today I’m here to talk about this book: Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs. It’s a retelling of the Medusa myth. It follows the lives of these girls who are the descendents of Medusa and her sisters. They are the gatekeepers against these demon hordes, who enter our world and try to eat humans. These girls are the only ones who can see the monsters, and they’re the only ones who can fight them. I’d probably describe it as Buffy mixed with Greek myth, which sounds super interesting; except, it’s not very interesting.

It reads like a super long prologue. Everything that happens in this book is a build up for the next two books, which is fine. I can understand why there’s a lot of information in this book. I can see why it was done this way: it’s allowing for character development. However, each story needs to have its own climax. There is a climax in this book, but it didn’t feel like it was enough. I didn’t feel like the stakes were high enough. I didn’t feel like there was enough given on a lot of the plotlines. I didn’t feel like any of the plot lines were resolved. I know that some were, but it didn’t feel like it because there were just so many openings, and not a lot of closings, and it was just really frustrating.

Doesn’t mean I won’t be reading the next book; I will. I thought the idea was really interesting. I enjoyed the characters for the most part. The sisters are really different, so it was nice getting to see this contrast, but they’re also similar at the same time. There’s some love interest stuff going on that I want to see what happens. I just wish that this book had had a bit more kick to it. There was so much opportunity for it to have more kick than it did.

Don’t forget to subscribe. Check out all of my contact information down below. If you’ve read Sweet Venom, I would love to hear what you thought of it, especially if you disagree with me. If you really, really love this book, please let me know what about it you really enjoy. Let me know if you’ve read the second book, and if it’s worth my time. No spoilers please. If you know of any more Greek myth retellings, let me know. Thanks, guys, bye.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“I really appreciate that Sweet Venom is not only entertaining, but also an opportunity for readers who are not as well-versed in Greek mythology to learn more.” – Hylary @ Library Lady

“An interesting plot, awesome characters, action-packed, mythological creatures and a bit of romance, all in one book!” – Koice @ Book Whales

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs

  1. April Books & Wine says:

    I am glad to know that I should go in expecting a book that reads like a prologue and not to expect a fully contained book that stands on it’s own. It helps my enjoyment to adjust my expectations and I do plan on reading this so, yes, I am glad that I know kind of what to expect so I don’t get disappointed. 🙂

  2. Ugh I hate when the first book is just a build up. Or when books end on cliff hangers.

Leave a Reply

