Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×10

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of More Than Just Magic and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Vincent and the Doctor by Richard Curtis

When the Doctor notices a face in one of Van Gogh’s paintings, Amy and the Doctor travel to meet one of the most famous artists of all time.

imageThe first time I watched this episode I really didn’t understand what was so fantastic about it. I was pretty focused on the fact that Rory was gone, and I didn’t like that Van Gogh was hitting on Amy, and I could tell it was trying to make me feel things, and I don’t like being made to feel things. This time through, however, I loved this episode, and I can understand why it’s the favourite episode of many.

I loved seeing the Doctor and Amy bond over their love of Van Gogh and the fact that they were getting to meet him. It reminded me a lot of Ten and Rose’s reactions to Queen Victoria in Tooth and Claw. I loved how confident yet awkward Van Gogh was with his attraction towards Amy, blurting out that they would have so many children if she chose to stay. I loved the friendship that the Doctor, Amy, and Van Gogh developed. I loved that Van Gogh was able to see that his art was appreciated, and yes my eyes did water at that scene. The bow-tie art guy’s reaction was just the best. Just the best.

This episode deals with a lot of complex issues. I wish I had the ability to talk about them the way they deserve. But I will say this: I think Van Gogh is a mirror of the Doctor. The Doctor knows Vincent isn’t mad because he knows mad. He is mad. He recognizes Van Gogh’s depression because it’s something he struggles with himself. We saw a bit of it in Amy’s Choice, and I love it. I really, really do.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 5×10

  1. Christa says:

    I really enjoyed this episode. And the ending makes me sad 😦

Leave a Reply

